Tags

, , ,

I’ve always been a small person. Not only am I naturally slender, I am petite too. Even in kindergarten I was the shortest, tiniest kid. There are several naturally petite and skinny women in my family, on each side of my family. This is why it is offensive and rude for people to act like thin people are fake, bitchy, unhealthy, and not normal people. Of course, anyone who would stoop to that immature level is probably doing so because they are unhappy with themselves. (Think about it, why else would they care so much about what I look like unless they are jealous in some way?) Obviously it is just in my genetic make up to be a runt! I would never say anything mean to an overweight person, but overweight people say mean things to me all the time. People tell me that I need to eat, or that I will blow away, or people act worried that I don’t eat anything at all! Little do they know, I eat three meals a day and snack all throughout the day, everyday. In the summer I eat McDonald’s almost daily and I usually maintain a weight between 92-98 pounds depending on the day. The hotter it is outside, the less I weigh for some reason. This puts my BMI at about a 16 which some people say is unhealthy, but if I am doing everything I can to eat normal and take my vitamins, etc. Then I do not think I am unhealthy, I just happen to be below the average weight genetically. And if you look at my pictures, you can tell I have good muscle tone, it’s not just skin and bones! I am evidently supposed to be a fun sized individual and there is nothing I can do about it.

I do find the extra skinny runway models graceful and the prettiest of people (blame Teen Vogue). Their delicate wrists, long legs, small chests, and defined collar bones are all appealing to me. I think those things are attractive, but that doesn’t mean I don’t find beauty in your average people. When I was in middle school or high school I remember reading that the average runway model is 5’11” and 117 pounds. I figured that if I got taller that maybe I could be one, however I didn’t grow tall enough, which is fine because there is nothing wrong with being a shorty (guys like it!) I don’t think it is fair to look at an image of a model and judge her immediately, saying that she has an eating disorder. You never know if someone is just that way naturally or not. If I were a few inches taller, I would be able to do runway modeling, and I would not want people to give me one glance and tell me I’m doing something wrong! That’s not right. We are not able to look at someone and just know their story. We can’t say whether or not they were born that way, only they know that about themselves.

Quit hating, be happy with yourself.

Twiggy

0807121735a_0001 Me weighing in this summer

