Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Face: As soon as I wake up I wash my face with a cleanser called Purpose that was recommended by my dermatologist. It is very gentle and oil free. I wet my face and then rub the Purpose on my face in a circular motion with two fingers, I move across my face doing this so that I feel nice and clean. I then use an astringent. I like Clean and Clear’s deep cleaning astringent for sensitive skin that has salicylic acid to help treat and prevent breakouts and wrinkles supposedly. It helps remove deep down dirt and makeup. Then I use Clean and Clear’s dual action moisturizer that is oil free and also contains salicylic acid. I have used it for years because it keeps my face from drying out or getting chapped in cold weather. I have used all three of these products since I was in high school, so I like them pretty good. I follow this routine twice a day, in the morning and at night before I go to sleep!

Body: I don’t like to dry out my skin or rid my hair of natural oils so I tend to take a long shower every other day. I like to exfoliate either with a lofa and some body wash or bodywash that have little gritty pieces like beads. They make your skin feel so soft and it gets rid of dead skin so that new skin cells can emerge which also prevents breakouts because it helps untrap dirt and oil. Then I shave and after I am out of the shower I put lotion on my legs, they will feel dried out and itchy if you don’t give back the moisture you took away while shaving.

Hair: As I stated above, I like to wash my hair twice so that I make sure it gets super clean. The first time I let it sit a minute while massaging my scalp, then I put my head under the water. The second time I apply it, I massage my scalp harder to make sure I get all the dirt and oil out of it. I then put a conditioner on the ends of my hair and let it sit a minute. Just apply it to the ends because as it dries, your hair will gradually absorb the conditioner all the way to the roots. I really like Swuave’s shampoo, conditioner, and body wash products. After you are out of the shower, make sure to apply an anti-tangle serum or spray or lotion to your hair so that heating tools like a hair dryer will not fry your hair. John Frieda’s anti-frizz serums are fine, but my hormones have changed so much that my hair really never frizzes anymore, it just tangles and falls out! The best after shower hair product I have is got2b Smooth Operator with cashmere, a smoothing Luster Lotion. It contains ingredients that protect your hair from hot styling tools and also has a UV protectant. I use it to keep the short layers of my hair from feathering out especially when it’s humid outside, or if I am going to go dance in a stuffy club, and I apply it because I use a hair dryer in the cold season (I actually have a silent one because my ears are so sensitive). I have to sit and dry my hair for at least ten minutes, very evenly for it to be almost all the way dry.

Extra tips:

-I use a make up remover called Pond’s cold cream because it doesn’t clog my pores and it is for sensitive skin so it won’t burn my eyes. My grandma Ida used it all her life so she always smelled like it and I am wondering if it kept her from wrinkling up, because she was never very wrinkly at all !!

-If your face keeps breaking out, you may be over-drying it with products that are too harsh for your skin type. Reach for a facial moisturizer.

-Don’t forget to put body lotion on your knees and elbows also since those are key areas that like to dry out. Before bed put lotion on your hands and feet (then put on socks).

-A good body lotion for very dry skin that is not greasy or heavily perfumed is Vaseline’s intensive rescue clinical therapy skin protectant lotion.

-If your hands are severely cracked from cold weather, or you want to soften up callouses, use Aquaphor healing ointment which is a skin protectant that feels much like Vaseline.

-Wear Carmex moisturizing lip balm every night at bedtime so you won’t wake up with chapped lips.

-Wear a soft headband when you sleep so that your hair does not get tangled or stick to your face.

-If you dye your hair a lot, apply a deep conditioner all over your hair and let it sit for a couple minutes. Do this at least once a week. Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Moist Deeeeep Conditioner is a fantastic product for dry or dull hair — i love it!!!!

And that’s basically all I have on keeping up with good hygiene!

My favorite Conditioner

